Missouri Drivers' License Test 2017 - FREE Practice!

DMV Test Simulator and Flashcards :

Missouri Driver's Licnese Info & Resources:

  1. Missouri Driver's License And State ID
  2. Missouri DMV Publications - Driver's Handbook, Guide, Manual, Highway Code.
  3. Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles
  4. Missouri DMV Regional Office Locations - regional service centers, office hours and addresses.
  5. Missouri DMV Related Forms and Applications
  6. Missouri Motor Vehicle Registration
  7. Moving to Missouri, Non Resident Motorists
  8. Info for Missouri DMV Teen Drivers
  9. Official Missouri State Website

Missouri Driver License Written Test

To test your knowledge of traffic laws, you will need to take a written test of 25 multiple-choice questions.  Studying the driver guide will prepare you for that knowledge test.  You must correctly answer 20 questions to pass the test.   All of the test questions come directly from information found in the driver guide.

Types of Permits

If you are under 21 years of age, you will be issued a permit identifying you
as a minor.
Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15
Motorcycle Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15 and a half or 16

Types of Licenses

When you reach age 21, you may apply and pay for another driver license (without the minor indication) or wait until your under-21 license expires.
Intermediate License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 16
Full Driver License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 18
For-Hire License (Class E) — Eligible Age: 18
Motorcycle License (Class M) — Eligible Age: 16
Commercial Driver License (Class A, B, or C)
Nondriver License/Identification Card (Class ND)

The Graduated Driver License Law

Missouri's Graduated Driver License Law requires all first-time drivers to obtain an instruction permit and complete a period of driving with a licensed driver, followed by a period of restricted driving (intermediate license), before getting a full license.

Step One : Instruction Permit, Eligible Age : 15, Cost : $3.50, Valid : 0-12 months
Step Two : Intermediate License, Eligible Age : 16 to 18, Cost : $7.50, Valid : 0-2 years
Step Three : Full Driver License (Under 21), Eligible Age: 18, Cost : $10.00, Valid: 0-3 years

The Driver Examination

The driver examination consists of a four-part test:
•  A written test on traffic laws and rules for safe driving
•  A vision test
•  A road sign test
•  A driving test (skills)

Written Test

Driver License (Class F)If you are applying for a Class F (operator) license, you must take a 25 question multiple-choice written test. The questions will be on the laws and methods of driving covered in the driver Guide.  The test is NOT an open book test.

For-Hire License (Class E), If you are applying for a Class E (for-hire) license, you must take a special written test. The questions will be on the laws and methods of driving covered in the driver guide but will also include the information on commercial vehicles found in Chapter 15.   The test is NOT an open book test.

Driving Test

After you pass the written, vision, and road sign tests, you may then take the driving test. You will take the driving test with a driver license examiner of the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

Missouri Sample Written Test Questions


1. When you approach a railroad crossing without flashing warning signals or crossing gates, you should:
a. cross the tracks as quickly as possible.
b. always stop.
c. yield to all trains at the crossing.
d. speed up to beat the train.

2. You may pass another vehicle by using the shoulder of the road:
a. when the vehicle in front of you is making a left turn.
b. to go around a slow moving vehicle.
c. you are not allowed to pass on the shoulder of the road.
d. when the traffic ahead is blocked up for 250 feet.

3. If you miss your exit from an interstate expressway:
a. stop in any lane of the highway
b. get off at the next exit and come back to the exit you missed
c. roll down your window and ask the driver next to you for help
d. back up on the highway

4. The minimum age that a person must be in order to obtain an Instruction Permit is:
a. 14 years old
b. 15 years old
c. 15 1/2 years old
d. 16 years old

5. The fee for an Instruction Permit is:
a. $1.00
b. $2.00
c. $3.50
d. $4.00

6. Shortly before your driver or non driver license expires, the Driver License Bureau will mail a renewal reminder postcard to:
a. the most current address on your driver record
b. the address on your last application
c. the address in your local phone book
d. your local contract office


7. The minimum age that a person must be in order to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit is:
a. 14 years old
b. 15 years old
c. 15 1/2 years old
d. 16 years old

8. For a driver with an intermediate license, the driving restrictions are:
a. seat belt must be worn by the driver
b. seat belts must be worn by all passengers
c. a driving curfew from 1:00 a.m to 5:00 a.m
d. all of the above

9. To help others know that you want to be an organ donor, you should:
a. complete the organ donor information on the back of your license
b. discuss your decision with your next of kin
c. have two witnesses sign the back of your license
d. all of the above

10. Where should you go to take the Missouri driver examination tests:
a. any Missouri State Highway Patrol examination station
b. any Department of Transportation office
c. any Missouri contract office
d. the nearest high school driver education class

Correct Answers for the above sample written test questions are : 1-c, 2-c, 3-b, 4-b, 5-c, 6-a, 7-c, 8-d, 9-d, 10-a